2009 Bill Turner Cup for Boys – The Finals

September 10, 2009

in News

Bill Turner Cup (Boys) Grand Final

Bossley Park High [NSW] 1 (og 33m) beat Cavendish Road State High [Qld] 0.

Auscraft Star Player: Mitchell Osmond of Bossley Park High.
Supported by Nestle Peters

By Greg Danvers

BOSSELY Park High have won the 31st Bill Turner Cup at Edgeworth tonight (WEDNESDAY 9 SEPTEMBER) in a hard fought match against Queensland’s Cavendish Road State High.

An own goal, off the boot of a Cavendish Road defender, gave Bossley Park a 1-0 advantage at the 33-minute marker. But Cavendish Road were not out of the contest, going forward and defending in numbers.

The match was locked at nil-all at the break after what can only be described as an arm wrestle between two very good quality teams.

Bossley Park demonstrated from the opening whistle that their intention was to attack.

Two minutes had just passed when the first corner of the game was delivered into a crowded Cavendish Road penalty area.

The defence stood tall and the partisan Bossley crowd began to sing: “BOSSLEY, BOSSLEY, BOSSLEY”.

The tempo increased then dropped off as both sides found their pace, no quarter given or asked, with tackles willing, the running fast and the ball skills abounding.

On 15-minutes Bossley’s Luke Clifford broke away down the left side and crossed into the Cavendish Road area, the ball fell for Damien Smith but the chance was denied.

Three minutes on Peter Makrillos watched on as his right foot strike was headed away at the far post by Cavendish Road’s Corey Santos.

Bossley Park Manager, David Foti said post match: “A brilliant result for the school but winning is not everything we are about at Bossley Park”.

“We love the Bill Turner Cup; it is a competition that has great tradition.

“Our school has only existed since 1988 and we have won it three times now.

“We judge ourselves mainly through the development of our players … this is a bonus.”

Bossley Park High School. (NSW)
Aaron Messina, Vicenzo Costa, Luke Mesiti, Mitchell Osmond, Peter Makrillos, Iain Garrett, Luke Clifford, Dylan Siyvala, James Do, Damien Smith, Nicholas, Colantonio, Domenic Dileo, Jason Starr, Antony Cachia, Steven Srzich, Tyrone Gatt .

Cavendish Road State High School (Qld)
Matt Stein, Andrew Thompson, Jake Byrnes, Travis Berg, Hayden Gay, Corey Santos, Jack Fitzsimmons, James Millar, Mario Perkic, Raymond Le, Jonathan Dover, Andrew Malvenan, Alex Hastings, Mikhail Hastings, Alex Winters, Alex Schiavo, Jonathan Welsh, Sam Armstrong.

Referee: Jordan Langholz
Assistant Referees
: Steve Courtney, Nick Robinson.
Fourth Official:
Pat Bellingham.

Bill Turner Cup 3rd place play-off
Endeavour Sports High 7 (Ayaz Dar 5m, Micky Neil 14m 42, Alex Vrovski 18m, Bobo Najdouski 22m, Florin Binakaj 29m, Justin Aramburu 49m) beat Daramalan College 2 (Giovanni Spissu 32m, Adam De Franceschi 38m).

By Bob Brooks

Endeavour Sports High School from Southern Sydney completely overwhelmed Daramalan College from the ACT. The game was as good as over by half time with Endeavour posting five goals without response.

The goal rain started in the fifth minute when Ayaz Dar drew the goalie before slotting into an empty net.

Mickey Neil increased the lead with a powerfully hit shot from outside the box after a further nine minutes. The third followed through Alec Vrovski taking advantage of a defensive mistake.

First Bobo Najdouski then Florian Binakaj piled on the agony of the boys from Canberra.

Daramalan came out firing in the second stanza collecting two goals in a lively six minute spell through Giovanni Spissu and Adam De Franceschi.

The final score was seven to two as Neil scored his second and Justine Aramburu chimed in.

Bill Turner Cup (Boys) Semi Finals played on Tuesday 8 September 2009 at Jack McLaughlin Oval, Edgeworth Lake Macquarie, NSW. [Qld] 3 (Jake Byrnes 2m, Jonathan Dover 21m, Mikhail Hastings 25m0 beat Daramalan College [ACT] 0.

Cavendish Road State High

A flurry of first half goals set up Cavendish Road’s progression to the Bill Turner Cup grand final with a 3-0 win over Daramalan College in the first of the semi finals.

A second minute pin point strike by Jake Byrnes had the Queenslanders looking at tomorrow’s finale. Then two further goals, to Jonathan Dover and Mikhail Hastings, ensured Cavendish Road would be in the prestigious Bill Turner Cup grand final tomorrow.

Bossley Park High [NSW] 3 (Nicholas Colantonio 44m, Domonic Dileu 48m, Dylan Stivala 54m) beat Endeavour Sports High [NSW] 0.

Bossley Park High has advanced to the Bill Turner Cup grand final with a 3-0 win over Endeavour Sports High.

After a scoreless first half the intensity of the second semi final lifted as the clock was counting down. On 44 minutes Iain Garrett made an incisive run down the right flank and his cross was met with a diving header by Nicholas Colantonio to open Bossley Park’s account.

Four minutes on Colantonio doubled the advantage and Dylan Stivala secured the second spot in the Bill Turner Cup Grand Final.

The Bill Turner Cup grand final kicks off at 4:30pm between Cavendish Road State High and. The third place play-off, between Daramalan College and Endeavour Sports High, will start at 1:15pm on Wednesday September 9.

{ 1 trackback }

Grand Final Day – Wednesday 9 September, 2009 | Bill Turner Soccer
09.10.09 at 8:11 am

{ 1 comment }

1 westfield sports high 09.13.09 at 6:01 pm

endeavour were probably da best team reading from the names but i heard they got A RED CARD AND TWO INJURYS. GO WESTFIELD

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: