Road to the Finals Series 2012

August 11, 2012

in News

Contestants for the 2012 Finals Series are about to unfold. The last eight teams, in both the boys and girls competitions, have been decided and now play-off for places in the 2012 Bill Turner Cup and Bill Turner Trophy Finals Series – the finale to the 15 years-and-under High Schools Football (Soccer) knock-out tournament.

High School teams from as far north as Cairns to Melbourne in the south have contested the prestigious competition and now the committee of the Northern NSW Schools Soccer Association Inc and Patron Mr Bill Turner await confirmation of the final four teams – boys and girls – to contest the finals in the City of Lake Macquarie, in the Football state of Northern NSW during September. (The Finals Series timetable listed below).


The Bill Turner Cup has a Melbourne College – Maribyrnong – in the finals series while Queensland will be represented in both the Cup (John Paul College) and Trophy (Palm Beach Currumbin).


ROUND OF EIGHT (RESULTS) – winners progress to the Finals Series


Bill Turner Cup

John Paul College (QLD) 2-1 Toowoomba Grammar (QLD)

Maribyrnong (VIC) 2 (4) – 2 (1) beat St Johns Dubbo (NSW) on penalties

St Phillips Waratah (Northern NSW) v The Hills Sports High (NSW)

Menai (NSW) 0-1 Westfields Sports High (NSW)


Bill Turner Trophy (Girls)

Palm Beach Currumbin (QLD) 3-0 St Patricks Gympie (QLD)

Wade High School (NSW) v The Hills Sports High (NSW)

Bellingen High (Northern NSW) v Hunter Sports High (Northern NSW)

Endeavour Sports High (NSW) v Westfields Sports High (NSW)


All of the above matches are to be played on or before Friday 17 August.


Please contact your local school for venue, date and time of quarter final matches.


2012 Bill Turner Cup (Boys) and Trophy (Girls) Finals Series Timetable:

(* Timetable is subject to change )

Tuesday 4th September, 2012

11am Civic Reception at Speers Point Park


Semi-Finals at Jack McLaughlan Field, Park Street, Edgeworth


Bill Turner Trophy – Girls

2.00pm S/F 1 – Palm Beach Currumbin State High (QLD) v Wade High Griffith (NSW) or The Hills Sports (NSW)

3.30pm S/F 2 – Bellingen High (NNSW) or Hunter Sports High (NNSW) v Endeavour Sports High (NSW) or Westfields Sports High (NSW)


Bill Turner Cup – Boys

5.00pm S/F 1 – John Paul College (QLD) v Maribyrong Secondary College (VIC)

6.30pm S/F 2 – St Phillips Waratah (NNSW) or The Hills Sports (NSW) v Westfields Sports High (NSW)


Wednesday 5th September, 2012

Finals at Jack McLaughlan Field, Park Street, Edgeworth

12.00pm          Bill Turner Trophy 3rd place playoff   Loser of S/F 1 v Loser of S/F 2

1.15pm            Bill Turner Cup 3rd place playoff                    Loser of S/F 1 v Loser of S/F 2


2.45pm            FINAL of Bill Turner Trophy – Girls      Winner of S/F 1 v Winner of S/F 2

4.30pm            FINAL of Bill Turner Cup – Boys                      Winner of S/F 1 v Winner of S/F 2


– Prepared by Greg Danvers

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Previous post:

Next post: