Bill Turner Cup (boys) and Trophy (girls) – THE 2008 FINALS SERIES

September 1, 2008

in News

This year is a very special occasion for founder and now patron Mr Bill Turner.

At the time of the formation of the competition Mr Turner was a long serving teacher at Booragul High School, now known as Lake Macquarie High, and with the assistance and support of a group of dedicated teachers Northern NSW Schools Soccer was formed. At a later meeting, with Mr Turner absent, the group named the competition in his honour.

Mr Turner’s health over the past years has not been the best but he attends as many games as possible and God willing will be prominent at the Finals series and the Civic Reception hosted by the City of Lake Macquarie Council.

The Bill Turner Cup started in 1979 with a modest 34 teams and has grown to a point where over 500 schools contest the tournament annually. The schools represent the football federations of Queensland, Northern NSW, NSW, ACT and Victoria.

The Bill Turner Cup would not have been possible without the support of the Northern NSW Soccer Federation and their then senior officer Stefan Kamaz. Kamaz is now the CEO of Hyundai A-League club Sydney FC.

Jack McLaughlin Oval, the home of NBN State League club the Edgeworth Eagles, has been the host venue for the Bill Turner Cup since 1997.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Next post: