Queensland Finals

August 2, 2016

in News

Compiled by Greg Danvers – Media Manager


The 2016 Queensland Finals Series of the Bill Turner Cup (Boys) and Bill Turner Trophy (Girls) was played at AJ Kelly Field, Kippa Ring the home Qld NPL Peninsula Power.

Wednesday’s winners now progress to the National Finals to be played in the City of Lake Macquarie on Tuesday September 6 and Wednesday September 7 at the Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility, 13 Park Road, Speers Point, NSW.

Wednesday August 3, 2016

Queensland Bill Turner Cup (Boys) Final – National Quarter Final

Kawana Waters State College (Sunshine Coast) 1 (Cooper Huizing 14m) beat Cavendish Road State High (Brisbane) 0.

Kawana Waters, after weathering attacking forays from Cavendish Road from the opening whistle, settled their nerves with a goal on 14minutes. Cav Road ‘keeper Bertic Cate had repelled two fine shots before wide left attacker Cooper Huizing squeezed the ball between the near post and the shoulder of Cate.

As determined as Cav Rd was to reel in Kawana Waters the Sunshine Coast lads defended stoutly and pushed forward at every opportunity.

Sunshine Coast Daily reported on Kawana Waters win.

The Kawana Waters squad after presentations









Queensland Bill Turner Cup (Boys) Third Place Playoff: Ignatius Park College (Townsville) beat St Joseph’s College (Brisbane) on forfeit.

The Ignatius Park College squad









Queensland Bill Turner Trophy (Girls) Final – National Quarter Final

Cavendish Road State High (Brisbane) 1 (Grace Bond-Tweedie 7m) beat Cairns State High 0.

Cavendish Road found their way to goal on 7minutes with Grace Bond-Tweedie netting for a valuable 1-0 early advantage that ensued well into the second half.

Cairns State High midfielders Winonah Heatley, Eva Heron and Sula Ando posed many questions to the Cavendish Road midfield and defence but Cavendish Road stood solid and repelled the attacking forays of their opponents.

Cavendish Road coach Georgina Amos commented: “Looking forward to the National Finals,” she said post match.

“The girls worked really hard, Cairns put a good fight.

“Yesterday (against St Ursula’s Toowoomba) was a tough game and we had a couple sick and injured but we hung in there.”

The Cavendish Road squad









Queensland Bill Turner Trophy (Girls) Third Place Playoff: Chancellor State College (Sunshine Coast) 7 (Jordyn Weckett 1m; Courtney Brunner 8m, 22m, 41m; Jazlyn Salih 26m, Olivia Lomas 41m, own goal 45m) beat St Ursula’s (Toowoomba) 0.

Chancellor squad;









Results from Day 1 (Tuesday August 2 at AJ Kelly Field, Kippa Ring, Redcliffe):

Queensland Bill Turner Trophy (Girls) Semi Finals

Cairns State High 3 (Winonah Heatley 32minute, 52m; Annette Gidisa 68m – golden goal) beat Chancellor State College (Sunshine Coast) 2 (Jordyn Weckert 14m, Courtney Brunner 26m).

Cavendish Road State High (Brisbane) 4 (Tia Doyle-Brockfield 2m, 14m pen, 51m; Anna Margraf 38m) beat St Ursula’s (Toowoomba) 1 (Chloe Hutton 43m).

Queensland Bill Turner Cup (Boys) Semi Finals

Sunshine Coast Daily report here on:

Kawana Waters State College (Sunshine Coast) 5 (Ryan McClintock 9m pen; Zac Hyder 21m; Budd Baublys 38m; Kaelan Debbage 42m pen, 43m) beat Ignatius Park College (Townsville) 1 (Benjamin Stewart 44m).

Cavendish Road State High (Brisbane) 2 (Harry Talbot 20m; Samuel Trnka 61m Golden Goal) beat St Joseph’s College (Brisbane) 1 (Ethan Wildermuth 28m).


The Bill Turner Cup is one of the world’s largest team sport competitions where over 400 schools compete each year – which means around 6,000 players from NSW, Queensland, ACT and Victoria.

This knockout-style competition encourages fun and fair play for players aged 15 and under and in 2016 the Bill Turner Cup is in its 38th year.

The Bill Turner Trophy is a school soccer competition for girls aged 15 and under where each year, around 400 schools from NSW, Queensland, ACT and Victoria compete in this knockout contest. The Bill Turner Trophy is in its 26th year in 2016.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Previous post:

Next post: