2009 Bill Turner Trophy for Girls – The Finals

September 10, 2009

in News

Bill Turner Trophy (Girls) Grand Final

Westfields Sports High [NSW] 1 (30m og) beat Illawarra Sports High [NSW] 0.
Auscraft Star Player: Caitlyn Foord of Illawarra Sports High
Supported by Nestle Peters

By Ray Sandell

ILLAWARRA Sports High School, playing in their first Bill Turner Trophy Grand Final, met a very talented Westfields Sports High School team in an exciting match that showcased the large amount of young, talented female footballers playing in NSW.

Westfield had the better of the early stages but was consistently denied any real scoring chances by the resolute Illawarra defenders. Vanisha Kumar was making many penetrating runs for Westfield but succumbed to an injury and had to be replaced midway through the first half.

Illawarra started to get more into the game and Caitlin Foord had a golden chance to open the score in the 23rd minute but Westfield goalie, Georgia Rowntree,  made a great save by diving at her feet just as she was about to shoot for goal.

With one minute to go before halftime, Westfield attacked and Illawarra succumbed to the heavy pressure and unluckily a defender put the ball into her own net for the opening goal

The second half turned out to be a very even affair with both teams playing attacking football. With one minute to go, Illawarra had a good opportunity to equalize with a free kick one metre outside the Wesfields penalty area but the ball went well over the crossbar.

Westfields Sports High coach, Rob Bradshaw, felt the game “was tough, as it is every year, but his team managed to do the job”.

“I said to them at half time there would be a lot of pressure and we’re going to have to handle that, the girls did.

“We had to settle them down a little bit but eventually [they] got over the line.”

Westfield hung on for a one nil victory and took out their second Bill Turner Trophy in succession

Illawarra Sports High School.
Brook Perkiss, Stephanie Mitrevska, Cailtin Caldwell, Lana Dimovska, Amy Clayton, Cayla Constable, Kristina Janeska, Rikki-Lee Wardle, Caitlin Foord, Madison Varglien, Madison Rodgers, Emily Matthews, Catherine Bullivant, Logan Garard, Ainslie Lyons, Kelly MacDougal, Brittany Lindsay.

Westfields Sports High School.
Georgia Rowntree, Rhianna Pollicina, Madison Burgin, Shelby Milton, Alex Huynh, Melissa Caceres, Samantha Huynh, Cayla White, Vanisha Kumar, Candace Sciberras, Tiffany Brooke, Amy Harrison, Alanna Kenneedy, Renee Krstanovska, Patricia Charalambous.

Referee: Ray Ashborne.
Assistant Referees: Charlie Stevens and Adam Gehrig.
Fourth Official: Chad Herron.

Bill Turner Trophy 3rd place play-off
Hunter Sports High 3 (Tara Andrews 6m, 10m, 12m) beat Harristown State High 1 (Nikeesha Hansen 47m).

By Greg Danvers

HUNTER Sports High won the third place pay-off with three first half goals to budding Matilda Tara Andrews.

The first was a champagne left foot strike that beat Harristown’s ‘keeper at the near post, the second another class shot on goal and the third a tap in from close range.

Team work and building from the back by her team mates ensured the tall and vey talented striker was able to finish the good service provided.

Hunter Sports High coach – Joey Peters said post match: “The girls played good football both games I thought and stuck to the team plan and the roles that I have given each of the players.

“They played their little hearts out, so I couldn’t ask for anymore.

“Today to respond so well from a hard result yesterday just shows what quality of character these girls have. The most important thing for me is their character and attitude.”

Bill Turner Trophy (Girls) Semi Finals played on Tuesday 8 September 2009 at Jack McLaughlin Oval, Edgeworth Lake Macquarie, NSW.

Illawarra Sports High [NSW] 4 (Kristina Janeska 20m pen, Caitlin Foord 22m, 27m, 49m) beat Harristown State High [Qld] 1 (Grace McCusker 32m).

A hat trick of goals to Caitlyn Foord secured a 4-1 victory for Illawarra Sports High in the first semi final of the Bill Turner Trophy today [Tuesday 8 September 2009] over Toowoomba’s Harristown State High at Jack McLaughlin Oval in the City of Lake Macquarie.

The game opened up on 20 minutes after Kristina Janeska converted from the penalty spot for Illawarra to lead 1-0. Foord piloted two goals past the Harristown ‘keeper before the half time break for a 3-0 advantage.

Grace McCusker gave Harristown a glimmer of hope two minutes after the resumption to reduced the score to 3-1 but Foord struck in the 49th minute to seal the victory and a grand final berth.

Westfields Sports High [NSW] 1 (Alana Kennedy) beat Hunter Sports High [Northern NSW] 0.

The match was scoreless at half time, both sides went forward but each was repelled by solid defence at either of the pitch.

The second half was much the same until six minutes from time when Westfields pressured the Hunter defence earning a corner.

Renee Krstanouvska’s whipped the ball into the six yard box where Alana Kennedy scored from point blank range.

Illawarra Sports High will play Westfields Sports High at 2:45pm in the Bill Turner Trophy grand final while Hunter Sports High and Harristown State High meet at noon in the third place play-off.

{ 1 trackback }

Grand Final Day – Wednesday 9 September, 2009 | Bill Turner Soccer
09.10.09 at 8:13 am

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: