2016 Bill Turner Cup – draw, results and reports

September 4, 2016

in News

Wednesday September 7 at Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility, Speers Point


The Hills Sports (NSW) 1 (Jacob Vasiliou 32minute penalty) beat St Edwards, East Gosford (NSW) 0.

Player of the Final: Noah Pagden – St Edwards

Noah’s interview:


Player of the Series: Budd Baublys – Kawana Waters

Budds’ Interview:


Bill Turner Spirit of Football Award: Archie Waterson – Kawana Waters

Archie’s Interview:


Bill Turner Cup Final Report

By Greg Danvers

In an even first half, both in play, chances and goals the two combatants went to the break nil-all after end-rot-end quality football.

Being the first team to score to win the 38th Bill Turner Cup was the talk at half-time around the Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility and proved to be the case with The Hills Sports converting from the penalty spot two minutes after the resumption.

Jacob Vasiliou stepped up to take the pen and drove the ball into the roof of the net for was the match winner.

Both sides attacked, defended stoutly and counter attacked at every opportunity but the penalty stoke was the decider of an entertaining match.

The Hills Sports have now lifted the coveted Bill Turner Cup – ten years ago and today.

The Hills Coach Stephen Neligan’s interview:


For St Edwards it was their third time at the Bill Turner Cup Finals Series, and having finished third in 2003 and 2013, it was a welcomed relief to have made the Final.

St Edwards manager Scott Beattie was proud of his charges and offered these words post match:


Bill Turner Cup Third place play-off:

Kawana Waters State College 3 (Ben Haigh 11minute, Jyi Oakes 26m, Kaelan Debbage 29m) beat Illawarra Grammar 1 (Nick Peros 58m pen).

An early goal to Ben Haigh set Kawana Waters on their way to redemption for their 3-1 semi-final loss on Tuesday to East Gosford’s St Edwards College.

On 26minutes Jyi Oakes, who scored in the semi-final, added a second to give Illawarra a challenge to get back into the match.

The game placed even further from Illawarra’s reach when Kaelan Debbage’s blistering shot from the top of the area rocketed into the back of the net as the referee, Keegan Pulik was checking his watch for the half-time break.

The second half was end-to-end with many chances but both defences held firm until Nick Peros scored from the penalty spot, on 58minutes to salvage some pride for Illawarra Grammar.

Kawana Waters State College coach Adam Walker was forthcoming with his thoughts post match:


Hear what Illawarra Grammar College coach Mark Grieve had to say post match:


Results/reports from:

Tuesday September 6 at Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility, Speers Point


St Edwards, East Gosford (NSW) 3 (Matthew Zucchini 17minute, 26m; Brandan Sparacino 22m) beat Kawana Waters SC (Qld) 1 (Jyi Oakes 8m).

The Sunshine Coast’s Kawana Waters gave St Edwards (East Gosford) a wake up call eight minutes into the match with an excellent stake from Jyi Oakes only to be run down and beaten by St Edwards before the half time break.

Well taken goals by Matthew Zucchini (17th and 26th) were separated by a 22minute pearler from Brandan Sparacino on 22minutes.

St Edwards, who have previously been beaten at the semi-final stage and placed third (2003 and 2013) have made it to their first Bill Turner Cup finale.

Hear what St Edwards manager Scott Beattie had to say post match:



The Hills Sports (NSW) 4 (Jacob Vasiliou 12minute, 40m; Dean Pelekanos 20m; Liam Sinclair 29m) beat Illawarra Grammar (NSW) 0.

The Hills Sports dominated from the opening whistle to game’s end slotting home four well constructed goals to book their fourth Bill Turner Cup final after winning in 2006 and were runners-up in 2005 and 2012.

Jacob Vasiliou opened the scoring in the 12th minute and added his second on 40minutes while Dean Pelekanos (20m) and Liam Sinclair (29m) ensured The Hills have a 3:15pm meeting with St Edwards.

Hear what The Hills Sports coach Stephen Nelligan had to say post match:




{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Previous post:

Next post: