Bill Turner Cup and Trophy – facts

August 30, 2011

in News

Compiled by Greg Danvers – Media Manager – Bill Turner Cup and Trophy

The Bill Turner Cup for Boys was first played in 1979 where Belmont High School beat Whitebridge High School.

The 2011 version is the 33rd time the Bill Turner Cup will be contested. The knock-out tournament started in the second term with 440 entries.

Westfields Sports High, the 2010 champions, are the most successful school in the Bill Turner Cup history contesting ten finals – winning six and runners-up in four.

Westfields won the Bill Turner Cup in 1991, 1995, 1997, 1998, 2003 and 2010. Runners-up in 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2008.

Patrician Brothers Blacktown won the Bill Turner Cup in 1994 while Cavendish Road’s only final was in 2009 – beaten by Bossley Park.

Marian Catholic College of Griffith, formerly known as Griffith Catholic, only appearance in the Bill Turner Cup finals series was in 2003 where they finished fourth.

The Bill Turner Trophy for Girls, then run under the Combined High Schools banner with support from NSW Soccer Federation, was first contested in 1991. Bass High School beat Colo High School in the final.

In 2000 Northern NSW Schools Soccer Association Incorporated was approached to take-over the administration of the Girls competition which became known as the Bill Turner Trophy.

The 2011 version of the Bill Turner Trophy will be the 21st and commenced in the second term with 387 contestants in the knock-out tournament.

Westfields Sports High has contested eight finals and have never been beaten in a final of the Bill Turner Trophy.

Westfields won the Bill Turner Trophy in 1995, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2008, 2009 and 2010. They have won the Bill Turner Trophy three consecutive times on two occasions (1999-2001 and 2008-2010) and this year could become the first school to win the title on four consecutive occasions.

Hunter Sports High has contested the Bill Turner Trophy on four occasions winning in 2005, 2006 and 2007 and were runners-up in 2008.

Cavendish Road has made it to three Bill Turner Trophy finals winning in 2003 and 2004 and were runners-up to Westfields in 2010.

This is Daramalan’s first Bill Turner Trophy finals series.

The Bill Turner Cup and Trophy double has been won three times – Westfields in 1995 and 2010 with Hunter Sports High winning both titles in 2007.

This year there are six schools in the eight team Bill Turner Cup and Trophy finals series. Cavendish Road and Westfields contesting both.

Previous winners at:

Austcraft Medals star player award winners at:


{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Previous post:

Next post: