Spirit of Football Award

Bill Turner Cup recipients

2013  Frank Mudole (Cavendish Road SHS)

2014 Nicholas Fitzgerald  (Bossley Park)

2015  Riley Dinsdale  (Maribyrnong)

2016 Archie Waterson (Kawana Waters)

2017  Will Moustis  (Penleigh & Essendon Grammar)

2018 Dimitri Filactos (Newcastle High)

2019 Hayden Matthews (Endeavour Sports)

2020 No Award

2021 No Award

2022 Taj De Mito ( Endeavour Sports)

2023 Toby Tindale ( Endeavour Sports)


Bill Turner Trophy recipients

2013  Laynee Field (Hunter Sports)

2014  Christina McGrath  (Westfields Sports)

2015  Tazmyn Luschwitz  (Hunter Sports)

2016  Ellie Jones  (Hunter Sports)

2017  Brianna Williams  (Hunter Sports)

2018 Tiahna Robertson (Hunter Sports)

2019 Aleeah Davern (Cairns)

2020 No Award

2021 No Award

2022 Mikka Kolle ( Rowville)

2023 Ella Hamilton ( Maribyrnong)


Spirit of Football Award Description

Bill Turner valued participation, sportsmanship and commitment. For Bill, football was more about character than ability and success. The Spirit of Football award honours players whose approach to the game exemplifies values that Bill prized.

The following are some of the characteristics that a Spirit of Football nominee may demonstrate:

  • sportsmanship and fair play
  • treating the opposition and match officials with respect and consideration
  • positive contribution to team harmony and morale
  • placing team performance before personal success
  • co-operation with coaching staff
  • commitment and persistence
  • constructive and uncomplaining approach
  • community involvement

Each year one player from the Bill Turner Cup semi-finalists and one player from the Bill Turner Trophy semi-finalists will receive this award. Those who supervise each semi-finalist team are asked to nominate the player in their team they consider most deserving of this award. The nomination should be emailed to Lindsay Hewison (lindsayhewison@bigpond.com), accompanied by a single paragraph supporting statement (5-15 lines) outlining why the player should be considered for the award. Nominations and statements are to reach Lindsay by the Friday preceding the finals.

Each eligible player will take part in a short interview with a representative of the Bill Turner organisation on the Tuesday of the finals series. This interview will provide players with the opportunity to articulate their involvement in football, particularly at a school level and their attitude to the game and how it should be played.

The following will be taken into account in deciding the winner of each award:

  • the supporting statement supplied by the school
  • the personal interview
  • the manner in which players conduct themselves on and off the field during the semi-finals and finals.