2017 Bill Turner Trophy – the Final

September 6, 2017

in News

Wednesday September 6


Westfields Sports (Sydney) 6 (Danielle Keller 1minute; Sheridan Gallagher 23m, 33m, 47m, 55m; Maryam Mostaghimi 49m) Hunter Sports High (Lake Macquarie) 1 (Chelsea Williams 4m).

Westfields striker Danielle Keller netted in the first minute but Hunter replied three minutes later from a free kick, taken by Jessica Davis, that Chelsea Williams slotted home to equalise.

Player of the final – Sheridan Gallagher – scored the first of her four goals in the 23rd minute to have Westfields on their way to an 11th Bill Turner Trophy championship, leading 2-1 at half time.

Hunter’s coach Ash Wilson asked her team to leave nothing in the tank by giving their all for the final 30minutes.

In the end it was Gallagher, with second half hat-trick and a Maryam Mostaghimi screamer that secured the Trophy.

Both coaches comments are featured below.

Bill Turner Trophy Spirit of Football Award: Brianna Williams – Hunter Sports High.

Bill Turner Trophy Player of the Series: Mona Walker – Hunter Sports High.

Mona enlightens Bill Turner School Football on her experience at the 2017 National Final Series:


Bill Turner Trophy Player of the Final: Sheridan Gallagher – Westfields Sports High.

Sheridan had this to say post match:


Comments from winning coach – Rob Bradshaw of Westfields Sports High:


Comments from Ash Wilson coach of Hunter Sports High:


Bill Turner Trophy Third place play-off

Cavendish Road (Brisbane) 5 (Dominque Spampinato 6minute, 52m; Emily Butler 52m, Jaimee Taylor 56m, Estella Mazzoni 58m) beat  Maribyrnong College (Melbourne) 0.

Cavendish Road coach Georgina Amos’s comments post match:


Maribyrnong coach Arthur Pappas post match comments:


{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Previous post:

Next post: